2019 Winners

We are delighted to announce our 2019 National SQP Awards winners!

SQPs from across the UK have been recognised for their outstanding professionalism and commitment to their training at the National SQP Awards, which were held on Thursday 7th November at the Royal Garden Hotel, Kensington, London

Companion Animal SQP of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Nikki Harris, TFM Countrystore, Whisby

Nikki says that her grain-free and raw food sales have escalated as a result of educating customers on more natural food for their dog and how this can eliminate skin issues once they get the right guidance in place.

Equine SQP of the Year

  • Kristy Hodgson, Westgate Laboratories, Morpeth

Kristy says that customers are rightly very concerned about their individual animals, however, the subject of drug resistance is the real black cloud facing the entire industry.

Farm SQP of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Sarah Brooks, Wynnstay Group, Llansantffraid

Sarah is responsible for organising all the AMTRA training for the Wynnstay Group, along with the CPD training for the company’s ever growing number of qualified SQPs.

Independent Store of the Year

Sponsored by

  • WE Jameson & Son, Masham

Merchant manager Sally Cornforth says the store’s SQPs work hard with customers to build up a relationship of trust, which allows them to discuss, quite candidly, their requirements.

Mastermind Award

Sponsored by

  • Andrew Pattison, RM Jones, Hay-on-Wye

Andrew says he tries and works with a holistic approach with customers and not respond to ‘how much is your wormer?’

Multiple Store of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Wynnstay Group, Llanfair Caereinion

Store manager Ceri Jones says that, in-store, jobs are shared so that all know what comes from where and they can pick up a part of the chain if someone is off easily and with no disruptions.

Newly Qualified SQP of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Charlotte Forkes-Rees, Mole Country Stores, Berkeley

Charlotte says she tries and gets customers to plan ahead. When they come in the first instance, she says it is important to build up a rapport with them so they can feel at ease when discussing their needs.

Nutritional Expertise Award

Sponsored by

  • Lauren Yates, Pets at Home, Handforth

Lauren says that unless problems are affecting the customer such as shedding, bad breath or unhealthy stools, they don’t see it as high priority or are unaware that there is a problem.

Outstanding Customer Service Award

Sponsored by

MSD Animal Health

  • Gillian Smeaton, East of Scotland Farmers, Coupar Angus

Gillian says her approach to difficult customers is to stand her ground and not agree with a customer’s statement on how they are doing something knowing well it’s wrong.

Store Manager of the Year

  • Stefanie Willey, Mole Country Stores, Hexham

Stefanie says that her role in the store is so diverse and that the most important thing for her is the customer and the experience they have within the store.

Veterinary Practice SQP of the Year

  • Dawn Prime, Wherry Vets, Bungay

Dawn says she feels it is important that she can adapt to each situation, whilst at all times remaining professional, for example in asking the right questions, so she can provide owners with the right advice.

Trade Supplier of the Year

  • Elanco Animal Health

Outstanding Contribution to the Industry 

  • John FitzGerald 

National SQP of the Year

Sponsored by

  • Dawn Prime, Wherry Vets, Bungay

A message from the Editor, Simon King

Simon King, OvertheCounter’s editor, said: “The third National SQP Awards have been a fantastic success and I am delighted that SQPs from across the UK have been recognised for their commitment to their customers.

“I’d like to thank the sponsors that supported the National SQP Awards and I’d also like to encourage even more SQPs to enter the 2020 awards programme. I know from speaking to some of the winners how proud they were to win an award and I firmly believe that winners should shout about their win in their community as winning a national award can drive a business forward. Well done to all the winners and those who were also highly commended.”



Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health


AHDA Harper Adams Zoetis Animax Frontline Chanelle AMTRA Bimeda MSD